Skip to content


Ana García

Bachelor’s Degree in Industrial Engineering

The variety of subjects has given me an insight into the main fields I could pursue in engineering, and helped me to discover what my future as a professional will be like.

What would you highlight about the degree?

Of the degree I would highlight the diversity of the subjects, all of them related to the different fields of engineering. It is attractive for those who have not decided on a branch of engineering, as was my case.

Could you briefly describe the degree?

The degree in Industrial Technologies Engineering is composed of four courses in which students work on subjects from many different fields of engineering: electricity, electronics, materials, chemistry, mechanics, energy, industrial organization, structures, construction, etc. This variety of subjects provides a broad and integrated vision of engineering that is essential for future employment.

What do you like most about the degree?

What I like most about the degree is the diversity of the subjects and knowledge that is taught. I went into industrial engineering knowing that I was interested in engineering, but without much of an idea of what specialty I was most interested in. The variety of subjects has allowed me to learn about the main fields in which I could work, and has helped me to discover what my future as a professional will be like.

Why did you choose IQS and what would you highlight about the university?

I chose IQS because of the amount of practical knowledge taught and its laboratories. During the four years of study we have had two hours of laboratory every day, which helps a lot to integrate the theoretical concepts worked on in class. There is laboratory practice in almost every subject and we have worked with machinery and software to which, in other circumstances, we probably would not have had access. In addition, IQS offers compact morning schedules (for GETI) that allow us to have the afternoons free to study or to continue with activities such as sports or music.

Have you done an internship and can you talk about it?

I did an internship during the summer before 4th grade. I was at Aortyx, a company formed by researchers from IQS and Hospital Clínic that specializes in the development of medical devices to treat vascular diseases. So, my first contact with the world of engineering was in the biomedical sector. I was working on the extraction of 3D models of aortas from CT scans and computational fluid simulations (CFD) of these same models. For this I learned to use software that I had not worked with until then. I had to learn quickly, as my practicum lasted only two months, and this helped me to improve my ability and speed of adaptation to an unfamiliar environment. I applied knowledge acquired during my degree and developed my problem-solving skills, the search for alternatives and the communication of results. Despite the pandemic situation, I was able to witness various aspects of the working world, such as the integration and communication between sectors of a company to achieve a common goal, and the functioning of the engineering department in the face of a challenge such as the one faced by this company.

What skills have you acquired through the degree?

Thanks to the degree I have been able to develop my skills to create and innovate, raise problems, seek solutions and alternatives through the tools provided in the different subjects, manage risks, communicate the results to an audience, work in a team and lead.

What would you tell a student who wants to study at IQS?

Industrial Engineering is not an easy career, as you have to dedicate a high number of working hours, but the personal attention of the faculty and the practical knowledge offered by IQS are key to facilitate this process.

Did you make an exchange? Where was it and for how long?

I did an academic exchange during the first semester of 4th grade in San Diego, California at the University of San Diego for five months.

What do you take away from your time there on a professional level?

My experience in San Diego has really opened my professional horizons. The approach to industrial engineering in the United States is slightly different than in Spain; it is more oriented to the design, analysis and optimization of systems through mathematical and statistical techniques. They encourage the development of critical decision-making skills and, above all, being able to communicate them clearly in front of an audience. The teaching methods are also different, which enhanced my ability to adapt quickly to an unfamiliar professional environment. In addition, I was able to work with machinery and software that I had not had the opportunity to work with until then. USD helped me visualize my future as an engineer. I had the opportunity to take a Solar Energy course that allowed me to further one of my main interests: renewable energies. Thanks to this course I returned to Barcelona with the intention of specializing in this field and developing a TFG related to the storage of photovoltaic energy in hydrogen. Without this experience, right now I would be more undecided about my future.

Additionally, USD strongly encourages participation in career and non-career related clubs and associations. With the Industrial Engineers association, I was able to attend meetings that featured alumni engineers who had recently graduated and explained their experiences in the professional world of engineering. In this way, I was able to visualize what I could expect from my future as an engineer.

Personal opinion of your international experience.

My experience in San Diego was key in my personal development. I made international friendships that I know will last for the rest of my life despite the distance, I learned a lot about a new culture and I managed to find the perfect balance between dedication to my studies and the pleasure of life in California. I took advantage of a lot of free time to try new things and travel. I discovered my passion for surfing, a sport unknown to me until then, and also Mexican-influenced music, as I joined USD’s mariachi band as a violinist. So, not only I had a great professional growth but also personal growth. All in all, I believe that an international experience is a must in the professional and personal development of any individual in today’s cosmopolitan world. If I could, I would repeat this experience.